Does the Central Bank offer deposit insurance?

The Central Bank does not offer deposit insurance. The Deposit Insurance Corporation (DIC) was established by the Central Bank and Financial Institutions (Non-Banking) (Amendment) Act, 1986 to manage a Fund to provide insurance protection for depositors of the banks and non-banks regulated under the Financial Institutions Act, 2008. All banks and non-banks are required to be members of the DIC.   See the DIC website for details on the level of insurance guaranteed to the depositors in the event that a member institution fails.  

Currently, there are twenty-five (25) members of the Deposit Insurance Fund. Members of the Deposit Insurance Fund include:
Bank of Baroda (Trinidad and Tobago) Limited 
Citibank (Trinidad and Tobago) Limited 
First Caribbean International Bank (Trinidad & Tobago) Limited 
First Citizens Bank Limited 
Intercommercial Bank Limited 
RBC Royal Bank (Trinidad and Tobago) Limited 
Republic Bank Limited 
Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago Limited
AIC Finance Limited 
Ansa Merchant Bank Limited 
Caribbean Finance Company Limited 
Citicorp Merchant Bank Limited 
Development Finance Limited 
Fidelity Finance and Leasing Company Limited 
First Citizens Asset Management Limited 
First Citizens Trustee Services Limited 
General Finance Corporation Limited 
Island Finance Trinidad and Tobago Limited
Guardian Asset Management Limited 
Intercommercial Trust and Merchant Bank Limited 
RBC Investment Management (Caribbean) Limited 
RBC Merchant Bank (Caribbean) Limited 
RBC Trust (Trinidad and Tobago) Limited 
Republic Finance and Merchant Bank Limited 
Scotiatrust and Merchant Bank Trinidad and Tobago Limited